Sweater Weather – My Joy Lacquer Custom

While every day is about indie polish love for me, today I wanted to take a moment to highlight one of my favorite brands and something that indie brands can do for us that big polish companies can’t: create custom polishes.

Recently I learned how to make the sun vanish for nearly a week straight (outside of winter, of course.) I ordered a Joy Lacquer custom which is UV reactive. It has barely rained this summer here in Maine, yet the second I received a polish that changes color in the sun, goodbye beautiful weather. Now that the sun has returned, I bring you my amazing custom polish from Joy Lacquer: Sweater Weather.

It’s probably no secret to followers of my Instagram account that I am obsessed with Joy Lacquer, a relatively new indie brand that launched in May. I ordered minis in a few colors from Joy’s first collection, and I loved the formula, so I purchased the entirety of her second collection in full sizes. Some football-themed polishes may also have arrived on my doorstep just recently as well, but we’ll discuss those in an upcoming post. This post focuses on something Joy Lacquer does exceedingly well: custom polishes.

Earlier this month Joy Lacquer hosted a Pop Up Boutique where over pours from previously made customs were sold at a discounted price. I picked up several of these polishes in full sizes: Denali Darkness, Sexy Beast, Wide Awake, Aquamarine Dream (dreamt up by the fabulous Amanda over at Polish and Plates), and Call Me a Traitor, as well as two minis from a mystery grab bag: Itty Bitty and Classy, Sassy, and a Little Bad Assy in its glitter bomb form (I already have the non glitter bomb which was a group custom). All of these polishes were gorgeous, and they finally pushed me to order my own custom.

From L to R, top to bottom: Denali Darkness, Sexy Beast, Wide Awake, Call Me a Traitor, Aquamarine Dream, Sweater Weather Prototype, Nothin' a Little T&A Can't Fix, and Itty Bitty
From L to R, top to bottom: Denali Darkness, Sexy Beast, Wide Awake, Call Me a Traitor, Aquamarine Dream, Classy, Sassy, and a Little Bad Assy, Sweater Weather Prototype, Nothin’ a Little T&A Can’t Fix, Classy, Sassy, and a Little Bad Assy glitter bomb, and Itty Bitty

I’d been thinking about my custom for several weeks, and I knew that I wanted it to represent fall in some way as it’s my favorite season, and it’s fast approaching. Fall makes me think of leaves and hoodies and all things pumpkin. My favorite fall polish has been Finnnally It’s Hoodie Time by CrowsToes from the 2014 September A Box, Indied, so at first I was thinking something like that, a grey-blue but with gold glitter instead of orange, but I didn’t want something close to what I already had, so I started looking at fall pictures, and I realized that one of the things that I love the most about fall here in New England is the sky. I love how the clouds go from their normal grey to a deeper grey when the afternoon sun shines on them and the colorful leaves stand out against them.

So I sent Joy a description of my polish and a picture. I wanted the autumn sky in this picture on my nails. That pale grey-blue to darker blue-grey with a hint of something to represent the leaves. Joy worked some magic, and Sweater Weather was born. A pale blue-grey with a hint of shimmer indoors, it shifts to a stunning darker grey-blue packed full of shimmer in the sun with a lovely flash, just like the clouds it is meant to represent. If I could pick one polish to wear for the rest of my life, hands down, this would be it.

Inspiration for Sweater Weather
Inspiration for Sweater Weather
Sweater Weather Indoors
Sweater Weather Indoors – The color of light clouds and autumn sky
Sweater Weather in the sun - the color of darker clouds with shimmer to represent autumn leaves
Sweater Weather in the sun – the color of darker clouds
Another sun shot
Another sun shot

If you ever need a custom polish, I highly suggest that you order from Joy, and I know that you won’t be disappointed. I’m already planning customs for my mother and sister for Christmas, and I can’t wait to see what Joy does with my ideas! In the meantime, be sure to check out her She’s a Superfan Collection, polish for all your NFL mani needs.

Naked Bootleg, Chain Gang, Blue the Whistle, and Bench Warmer on the amazing bag in which they came wrapped
Naked Bootleg, Chain Gang, Blue the Whistle, and Bench Warmer on the amazing bag in which they came wrapped

To purchase Joy Lacquer: http://joylacquer.com

Joy Lacquer FB: https://m.facebook.com/JoyLacquer

Joy Lacquer IG: https://instagram.com/joylacquer/

image

Be sure to click the link below to visit other blogs featuring some indie love today!

21 thoughts on “Sweater Weather – My Joy Lacquer Custom”

  1. Wow, what a gorgeous view of fall trees and dark clouds! The matching thermal is spot on. I’m not too familiar with Joy Lacquer, definitely giving them a follow on IG if I’m not already! =)

    Like

  2. oh nice!!! and now i need to purchase some cause well my daughters middle name is joy!!! i wonder if they have one called poppy?? that would be awesome cause shes poppy joy!!! thank you for sharing!!!

    Like

  3. Wow, she really channeled that inspiration beautifully. Thanks for sharing the story of its creation. I adore working with makers on customs. While the resulting polish is fun to have, sharing a creative experience with another person is the real joy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

